Sweet potato muffins

IMG_8081

 

IMG_8080

My holidays have begun. At the moment I’m enjoying the wonderful weather city of Utrecht. My friend Marije is on a trip to Haarlem wither her mother, and she gave me her keys so I can have a lovely and sunny day, wandering through the city, visiting the market and buying fruits, drinking a delicious soy-cappuccino at the Coffee Company, and sitting at the quay of the Grote Gracht at the moment with many other young people who are playing music, reading books, or just catching some sunlight. I love to be alone at such moments, leaving my thoughts for what they are and just be. Then I feel how beautiful life is and how connected I am, grateful for all life’s possibilities.

But I’m also looking forward to tonight, because I know there is still one little sweet potato muffin waiting for me to be eaten and enjoyed. I made them yesterday with my housemate Floor, who is an absolute genius concerning everything that’s sweet and baked. She never uses a recipe, and just throws together whatever we have or what might be interesting for an experiment – this time it were the sweet potatoes. After 20 minutes of her magic cooking inspiration, twelve wonderfully smelling muffins were put in the oven. I couldn’t wait for them to be finished.

I will try to give you a recipe – which is probably better to use just as a guideline – as far as I can remember the ingredients and proportions, because I cannot keep it unshared.

IMG_8082

This is what you need:

  • 4 big sweet potatoes, puffed and mashed
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat floor
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • handful of walnuts, chopped
  • handful of sunflower seeds
  • handful of raisins
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp stevia (be careful, its really sweet!)
  • 1 tbsp mixed spice
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground vanilla

Of course it is perfectly fine to change or add different ingredients as you want. The proportions are a guess afterwards, so check if the dough is not too soft or too dry. 

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Mix the eggs, banana and sweet potatoes in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the rolled oats, almond floor, whole wheat floor, baking powder, salt, stevia, mixed spice, cinnamon, and ground vanilla. Add the wet mixture to the dry one and blend until everything is even. Then add the walnuts, raisins, apple and sunflower seeds.

Grease a tin with 12 holes and fill them with the dough. Bake the muffins in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes, so they are still a bit soft inside. Let them cool down a bit before serving.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

