Asparagus salad with artichoke & goat cheese

asparagus salad

 

k90nVJU

 

Today I had this feeling of falling in a big hole of nothingness. After a year of studying hard, always having something to do, a constant pressure – sometimes light, sometimes heavy, and a huge desire to doing nothing, holidays are finally there. But I really have nothing to do now. I cannot work yet, my friends are not in town, and the weather is not good enough to go to the park and just enjoy the city of Maastricht. I wish I had a garden in which I could lie on the grass, listen to birds and read a book (no idea which one though) and forget about every notion of time.

Yesterday I was at my parents place, a small village close to the city of Eindhoven. The house has a lovely garden where you can only hear birds and wind and there is no clear distinction between the forest and the garden, which makes that you have the feeling the forest is all yours – a huge richness. I was alone there too. My parents and a friend were making a walk at another place, and my brother was sleeping until 3 o’clock, recharging from his trip to Paris where he went with his final year from high school. But for some reason I didn’t have the strange feeling that I have today, while being back at my own flat. Maybe its because its my own place, and because I normally have to study when I’m here. Well, I’ll just survive today. Tomorrow my friend is visiting me, so then there will be too little time instead of too much.

W3cQr1g

VHK3VmX

But yesterday, I made a huge salad for my parents before they came home. I saw still some asparagus from the day before and decided to just make something. It turned out to be delicious, although I think a softly cooked egg would maybe even be better than the cheese. Whatever you want!

This is what you need for 4 serves:

  • 16 white asparagus, peeled and cooked in bouillon for 10 min
  • 150 g goat cheese (or 2 eggs)
  • 1/2 crop salad
  • 1 avocado, crumbled
  • 4 big artichoke hearts, in quarts
  • 1 spring onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • fresh chive (plus the flowers because they look beautiful), cut
  • fresh lemon balm, torn
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • rough sea salt & pepper

Take four plates and divide the salad over the plates. Then lay four asparagus on each plate. Add the avocado, artichoke hearts, goat cheese and spring onions. Garnish with the fresh chive and lemon balm, and then sprinkle the olive oil and vinegar as a dressing. At last, sprinkle some rough salt and pepper.

moSY3w4 11u2y4w

 

Enjoy!

 

 

3 responses to “Asparagus salad with artichoke & goat cheese

Leave a Reply

