Oat porridge with cherries & strawberries & daisies

IMG_5837

IMG_5820

This morning I woke up fresh and ready for a new day. I felt reborn – don’t ask me why – and immediately went running for 50 minutes through the awakening neighborhoods and through the fields. Every time I come there, it feels as if I’am in the countryside of France, between the small and old villages of the Morvan. The Morvan is a natural environment in the Bourgogne, in the middle of France. I don’t remember the first time I came there. When I was really young, friends of my parents moved to a beautiful water mill in that region, and every summer we past by and stayed for a few days. There are grasshoppers everywhere. When you walk through the high and dry grass, they’re jumping away in all directions.

If I will once in my life buy a second house or move to France, it will be to this region. The small hills are covered with green forests and wide fields, full of cows with bells and sheep. Furthermore the wine is perfect around there, so there is absolutely no reason not to go there later, when I’m tired of the boring Netherlands. Luckily I will go there again this summer, in three weeks to be exact, with seven friends in a lovely house watching over valley with horses and a real chateau. Well, the pictures explain enough.

IMG_3072

IMG_3067

IMG_3094

After I return from my dreams and running back home, I promise myself a good breakfast. Normally a smoothie or a variation on the oat porridge. I crash down satisfied on the balcony and start enjoying the meal, which gives me a boost that makes me survive the rest of the day without problems. This version is dairy-free, but if you prefer it with normal milk that’s perfectly fine.

This is what you need for 2 serves

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 2-3 tsp mixed spice
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground stevia
  • 1/2 tsp ground vanilla
  • handful strawberries
  • handfull cherries
  • few daisies
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

Add the rolled oats and coconut milk to a small pan and heat up while stirring. When it gets a bit thicker, add the mixed spice, cinnamon, stevia, and vanilla, and stir well. When the porridge is thick enough (depends on the oat and your own taste), add it to a bowl. Then add the cherries, strawberries and daisies, and finish with the chia seeds.

 

 

IMG_5850

 

IMG_5821

Leave a Reply

