Eggplant rolls with goat cheese & pomegranate

IMG_8777

IMG_8781

As the days of my holidays pass on, they quietly turn into a rush of the same. Every day there seems to happen less and the feeling of time desolates me. I cannot tell which day it is, what hour of the day (or night), and I completely lose the awareness of the plans during my holidays. Do you know that feeling? On the one hand I love it because it liberates me from all my duties and stressful thoughts, but on the other hand I hate spending my days like this, when looking back and not knowing what I useful of nice things I did during the last days. Of course I visit friends, go to different cities in the country and enjoy every now and then a drink at the terrace, but I miss the productivity. That is one of the reasons I started this blog, to fill my time with things I love and things that are productive at the same time. And this blog is what is saving me from the unsatisfied feeling of useless spent days. I’m so grateful for that.

My second small project I started is based on the genius idea of Nicole Gulotta from Eat this Poem to create a scrapbook in which you can gather everything you like and find inspiration for new recipes in my case. I was immediately motivated, went to my mother’s atelier to find some maps, went to a copy shop to buy paper, and started. Of course I did not have a plan – still don’t – but only the writing, drawing or thinking about a way to fill the pages makes me happy already. While browsing through a magazine for inspiration I found this simple recipe of eggplant roles. They’re absolutely delicious as a side dish or as a tapas. I made them a bit different than the original recipe, so here is my version.

IMG_8768

This is what you need

  • 1 big eggplant, sliced in the length of 1 cm thick
  • 1 handful rucola
  • seeds of 1/2 pomegranate
  • 100 g soft goat cheese
  • salt & pepper
  • olive oil
  • small hand pine seeds

Put the eggplant slices on a grill until they get soft and brown. Take them off and let them cool slightly. Add a bit of salt and pepper to the goat cheese and add 1 spoonful of the cheese mixture to each slice of eggplant. Then add some rucola, pine seeds and pomegranate seeds to each slice and carefully role them. Use a wooden skewer to hold the roll together. Place them on a plate with a layer of rucola, and sprinkle them with olive oil, salt & pepper, and some more pomegranate seeds.

IMG_8791

IMG_8785

Leave a Reply

