Mexican wraps, but slightly different

IMG_9167

IMG_9161

It was a summers day today. Bright, sunny, warm but not too warm, a soft breeze, and a wonderful forest. The last days I’m in the mood for walks. Through fields, heaths, and forest. Following small paths and rivers to find my way. All around me I can hear the birds sing and crickets chirp, I hear the wind touch the green leafs of the trees and the water pushing its banks. I prefer to be on my own. It gives me the feeling of being connected and part of the world around me, there is nothing that stands between me and the beauty.

These moments are incredibly important to me – next to the moments that I’m busy with my dog, attracted by some sheep and lost. They help me to find back my own track, pull me out of a negativeness, if there is any, and give me loads of energy to do what I want to do. And of course I came back fully inspired for a new dish. This time I found a really healthy variation on the traditional Mexican Wrap, and mine are just as delicious!

IMG_3418

The wheat-wrap is replaced by a simple leaf of cabbage! Crunchy and fresh – in other words, even better! To the filling of kidney beans I added some quinoa to raise the level of nutrition, and the tomato salsa and guacamole finish the wrap with a fresh and soft twist.

IMG_9163

IMG_9172

This is what you need, serves 4

For the filling:

  • 600 g kidney beans
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 red pepper, finely chopped
  •  +- 8 tbsp cooked quinoa (as you prefer more that’s possible too)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • big hand of fresh parsley
  • salt & pepper

Heat up the coconut oil in a big frying pan and add the onions, pepper and garlic. Fry for about 5 minutes and then add the kidney beans. Stir well and add the quinoa, turmeric, cumin, salt, and pepper. Make sure everything is warm and well combined, and add the pumpkin seeds and fresh parsley just before serving.

For the tomato salsa:

  • 4 tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 chili pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 sprig of fresh oregano
  • salt and pepper

Add everything to a bowl and mix well to combine. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

For the guacamole:

  • 2 avocado’s coarsely mashed
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 chili pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper

Add all the ingredients to a bowl and mix. Season with salt and pepper.

Take the leafs of a cabbage instead of traditional wraps, and fill them with the bean mixture, some salsa and guacamole to taste. It must be just as good as regular wraps!

IMG_9170

One response to “Mexican wraps, but slightly different

Leave a Reply

