Avocado Gazpacho

IMG_9204 IMG_9200

Nothing is better than a refreshing and cold soup after a hot summer’s day. Yes, I’ve been on holidays and I didn’t have time nor internet to write new posts, but I will try to compensate my lack of new recipes with some more this week (next week I’ll be gone again, and probably without laptop and internet again). But France was amazing. The weather was more than perfect – we haven’t seen any clouds -, and the girls too of course. One week before the start of trip I got tested for intolerance to some foods, and it turned out as I expected. I’m intolerant for gluten, dairy products, and sugar. Luckily it is not such a problem for me because I rarely ate any of these things, but at social things it can be really difficult. When I told my friends they were all open for my new way of cooking and they all wanted to try it. I cannot wish for better friends.

But back to the soup. I made this one after a hot day – too hot to do something except for reading a book in the shadow – on the basis of a recipe of Green Kitchen Stories. Its absolutely refreshing. I made it with almond milk instead of coconut milk and added some shredded coconut, but that was just because I forgot to buy any and I was to lazy go get out of the garden again. Let’s blame the weather.

IMG_9195 IMG_9198

This is what you need, serves 3

  • 2 avocado’s
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/4 fresh red pepper, finely chopped
  • a handful fresh chives
  • 1 tbsp dill
  • salt
  • handful of sunflower/ pumpkin seeds, roasted
  • dash of olive oil
  • some more dill

Add everything to a mixing bowl and blend until it is smooth. Add salt to taste. Add the soup to 4 soup cups and add to 4 cups. Finish with seeds, olive oil and dill, and optionally some ice cubes.

It made Elma smile (:

IMG_9203

One response to “Avocado Gazpacho

  1. Pingback: Sopa de Ajo Blanco – The White Gazpacho | Chef Janet Rörschåch·

Leave a Reply

