Carrot & Ginger Soup

Much has changed in the last weeks. I’m back from holidays, back in Maastricht for studying, I have a new housemate (a lovely girl, Lara), and we changed in the interior of our apartment. It feels rather strange to start with my studies again after such a long break, and even after the first day I notice that my thoughts are already at the next break (focus, Pleun!). Yes, I really have to get into the study-mood again, but hopefully that will happen soon enough before I screw up my first course of the year, but my plan is to lock myself up in the library and push myself to finish most of the work during the day so I can fill the evenings with cooking, writing, dancing, reading, and other nice activities.

Afbeelding

But okay, the soup. I found the idea of ginger & carrot on Pinterest, a nice medium for inspiration for all sort of things (interior, food, fashion.. it includes everything). So I tried to cook something tasty, and luckily it worked out :). I already love this soup because it warms you up from within your body, and it fills really good! It actually rather is a winter-soup, but it feeds well in summer too. Really try to get fresh ginger, it tastes way better than grounded, dried ginger

This is what you need, serves 4 – 6:

  • 4 big carrots, chopped
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 inch fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tbsp rosemary
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • 200 ml coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 l bouillon
  • salt&pepper
  • fresh parsley
  • 1 hand roasted pine seeds

Heat up the coconut oil in a sauce pan and add the onions, pepper, garlic and rosemary. Fry for about 5 minutes on medium heat and then add the carrots and apple. Fry until the carrot begins to soften and then add the bouillon. Bring it to a boil and cook for about 15 minutes until the carrot and apple are nicely soft.

Blend the soup well and add the turmeric and ginger. Cook for 5 more minutes and then lower the heat, add the coconut milk and salt & pepper to taste. Serve the soup with some fresh parsley and roasted pine seeds.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Carrot & Ginger Soup

Leave a Reply

