Fennel & celeriac soup with a hint of orange – and a thought.

Fennel & celeriac soup with a hint of orange

I have been thinking a lot lately. You probably have noticed that I haven’t been writing a post for a pretty long while, but as I said, I have been thinking. A few months ago I noticed that I felt an obligation rising to regularly write for my blog, meaning that I missed the pleasure of writing that I used to have when I started. When I recognized this, I decided that I would not write until it wouldn’t feel like an obligation anymore, and only when I wanted to write for myself. Sorry guys, that sounds pretty egocentric, but you must know I started the blog as a creative expression next to all my academic writing for college, and not as another routine in my life.

During this time Marije and I started sending each other emails in which we answered questions like „What do I live for?” and „What defines me?”, thanks to her for the great idea. These questions are constantly floating in the back of my head, but that’s where they remain, without getting concrete. Now that I had to write the answers down, not just for myself, but also explain them to my friend, it all became very clear for me.

I recognized that consciousness is very important to me. Partly I mean my own consciousness about what I put in my mouth, but there is more. Do you know the feeling that you are truly convinced of something, like a religion, which you think is the sort of absolute truth? Well, I think I do. Somewhere very deep within me I know that there is something more beyond what we can see. By knowing I do not mean that I have evidence for it or any rational argument, but that ‘something’ within shouts at me so I cannot really ignore it. I belief we are all connected and that we share a common consciousness.

Therefore think there is no real distinction between what scientists teach us and what religion tells us. Just like philosophy and arts. In the end it is all connected. It is strange that we base our actions merely on what is reasonable, because that is the only thing we can explain to someone. I wonder whether this need to always rationally explain things is what we should do. Actually, I don’t think so. As Nietzsche said, that’s only one half of our nature. By doing so, we’ve killed our own artist within, and with that our meaning of life. Science cannot give us any meaning in life, so we better just listen to ourselves and keep that tiny feeling of faith, otherwise life will be reaaaally boring and pointless.

I notice I have the urge to spread the idea about common consciousness and to spread some consciousness in general. Even if it is just about food. So that is what I – hopefully – will be doing. It is also an attempt to do more with all the very interesting information I get through my studies about culture, traditions, philosophy, and everything that we face daily but take for granted. I hope you also think these things are interesting!
Over the last two weeks I have done another detoxing cure (the lemon cure, like before) and during these foodless days I started looking around for the best dishes I wanted to make when I could eat again. Today will be my first day of cooking since, and even though I am only aloud to have soup, it will probably be heavenly. This time it will be a fennel-celeriac soup with a hint of orange zest, inspired on the genius book Veg! from Hugh Fearnsley-Whittingstall.
Fennel & celeriac soup with a hint of orange
This is what you need – serves 2-3
  • 1 fennel
  • ⅓ of a celeriac
  • 1 onion
  • handful of fresh parsley
  • ½ liter vegetable stock
  • zest of 1 orange
  • salt and pepper
  • 4-6 tbsp coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • roasted pistache nuts

Chop the onion in rings and heat up the oil in a medium size pan. Add the onion and fry for a few minutes. Meanwhile, cut the fennel and celeriac in slices or cubes and add them to the onions. Stir for the oil to cover all the vegetables, put the lid on the pan and fry for about 10 minutes.

Then add the grated orange zest, the bouillon and some salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and cook for 15 minutes, until the vegetables are tender. Blend the soup smooth. If it’s to thick, add some more water or bouillon. Pour the soup into bowls, add some coconut milk, fresh parsley and coarsely chopped pistache nuts, and serve.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did, as my very first warm meal after my detox week.

Fennel & celeriac soup with a hint of orange

One response to “Fennel & celeriac soup with a hint of orange – and a thought.

Leave a Reply

